Marathon’s Hanke, Neillsville’s King land on WBCA Division 4 All-State Team

CWS Sports Desk

April 14, 2019

Madison– The WBCA has announced its Division 4 Boys Basketball All-State Team, and two area athletes represent central Wisconsin.

Carter Hanke of Marathon was named to the first team.

Receiving Honorable Mention was Alex King of Neillsville.

Chombi Lambert of Roncalli leads the way as the lone unanimous selection on the 2018-19 Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association Division 4 All-State Team. Lambert, Bailey Blanchard of Clear Lake, Jaden Kreklow of New Glarus, Isaac Lindsey of Mineral Point, and Logan Mulhern of Osseo-Fairchild are repeat First Team selections.

Lambert was the driving force behind Roncalli’s 2018 state championship and return trip to Madison this year. The dynamic 5’9” point guard finished his career with 1,760 points, averaging 21.6 per game as a senior.

Blanchard averaged double figures in scoring each of his four years on varsity, including 20.6 per game as a senior to finish with 1,715 career points. He helped the Warriors to a state tournament appearance last year and another outright conference championship as a senior.

Kreklow was one of the most dominant players at this year’s state tournament, scoring a combined 43 points to help the Glarner Knights to the Division 4 championship. On the season he averaged 22.2 per game, scoring more than 1700 points in his prep career.

Lindsey has already amassed more than 1400 points in his prep career, including 491 each of the past two seasons. As a junior in 2018-19 he averaged 20.5 per game to help the Pointers to a 17-7 record and second place finish in the extremely tough SWAL.

Mulhern was a dominating force for the Thunder, helping the team to a perfect record in the Cloverbelt-West and trip to the Division 4 state tournament. Mulhern was outstanding in a close loss to Lourdes Academy, scoring 33 points with 20 rebounds and six assists. On the year he averaged 26.8 points, 12.1 rebounds, and 5.7 assists per game to earn his second straight league Player of the Year honor.

Carter Hanke of Marathon helped the team to a Division 4 runner-up finish last year and put together a big senior campaign, posting team-highs in points (19.3 per game), rebounds (7.8), and assists (3.3). The 6’3” forward was named the Player of the Year in the Marawood-South.

Reid Larson of Fennimore was a four-year varsity standout for the Golden Eagles, earning First Team All-Conference each season. A prolific long-range threat who can do damage in many facets, he averaged 17.7 points per game this season and finished his career with 1,640 points.

Henry Noone of Lourdes Academy posted one of the best shooting seasons in state history, leading Wisconsin with 128 made three-pointers while shooting an incredible 56.4% behind the arc. He also connected on 88.5% of his free throws, but was more than just a shooter, averaging 21.3 points, 3.7 rebounds, and 3.2 assists per game to help the Knights to a Division 4 runner-up finish.

Kaleim Taylor of Milwaukee Academy of Science is a talented junior player with multiple Division 1 offers. The 6’3” guard averaged 22.7 points per game with an impressive 10.5 rebounds and 5.5 assists per contest as well.

Zach Yuenger of Dodgeland has put together back-to-back monster seasons, averaging 27.7 points and 11.4 rebounds per game as a senior after 26.7 and 11.4 as a junior. For his career he racked up 1,901 points for the Trojans.

WBCA Division 4 All-State

Bailey Blanchard, Sr., Clear Lake
Carter Hanke, Sr., Marathon
Jaden Kreklow, Sr., New Glarus
Chombi Lambert, Sr., Roncalli *
Reid Larson, Sr., Fennimore
Isaac Lindsey, Jr., Mineral Point
Logan Mulhern, Sr., Osseo-Fairchild
Henry Noone, Sr., Lourdes Academy
Kaleim Taylor, Jr., Milwaukee Academy of Science
Zach Yuenger, Sr., Dodgeland

Honorable Mention

Jack Baldwin, Sr., Howards Grove
Ian Behringer, Sr., Roncalli
Stryker Fitzsimons, Sr., Darlington
Alex King, Jr., Neillsville
Justin Sivertson, Jr., Iola-Scandinavia
Trey Zastrow, Jr., Manitowoc Lutheran

* Denotes unanimous selection

Voting Panel – Nick Hallberg, Grantsburg; Rick Storlie, Fall Creek; Chad Weinfurter, Auburndale; Sam Bertsch, Iola-Scandinavia; Jerry Petitgoue, Cuba City; John Koopman, Markesan; Ken Roeder, Kohler; Jason Atanasoff, The Prairie School.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *