Marathon’s Katelyn Schmidt and Tahlia Walton of S-B named to WBCA Division 4 All State team

By David Keech

March 16, 2018

Marathon-– Shemera Williams of Milwaukee Academy of Science and Lexi Donarski of Aquinas have been selected as unanimous selections on the 2018 WBCA Division 4 All-State Team.

Williams (D5 last season) and Donarski are repeat first-team selections.

Area players on the D4 team include Katelyn Schmidt of Marathon and Tahlia Walton of Stanley-Boyd.

WBCA Division 5  All State

Schmidt helped Marathon to a 23-3 record and a sectional final appearance, falling to state qualifier Crandon. The senior was voted Marawood-South Player of the Year after averaging 15.9 points, 5.1 rebounds and 1.5 steals per game for coach Jeff Schneider and the Red Raiders.

Walton led Stanley-Boyd to a 15-9 record. The senior and UW-Milwaukee recruit scored 23 points per game for the Orioles this season. She sat out her junior season after transferring from Eau Claire Memorial.

John Gaier of Neillsville and Allison Becker of Stanley-Boyd served on the coaches committee voting on the All State team.

Division 4 WBCA All-State
Emily Annis, jr., Durand
Sara Dax, jr., Kewaunee
Lexi Donarski, soph., Aquinas
Brooke Freitag, sr., Osseo-Fairchild
Emily Mueller, sr., St. Mary’s Springs
Maddy Otto, sr., Cameron
Katelyn Schmidt, sr., Marathon
Tina Ubl, sr., Shiocton
Tahlia Walton, sr., Stanley-Boyd
Shemera Williams, jr., Milwaukee Academy of Science

Honorable Mention 
Emily Behnke, jr., Manitowoc Lutheran
Mesa Byom, soph., Melrose-Mindoro
Katie Christopherson, jr., Melrose-Mindoro
Joriann Clary, sr., Cambridge
Alex Dornfeld, jr., Markesan
Emily Herzberg, soph., Melrose-Mindoro
Kaylee Meyers, jr., Darlington
Tabitha Renkas, soph., Crandon
Erika Simmons, jr., Melrose-Mindoro
Caroline Strande, soph., Racine Lutheran
Kyah Steiner, sr., Aquinas

* Denotes unanimous selection

Voting Panel Alison Becker, Stanley-Boyd; Kim Weber, Cameron; Mike Behnke, Manitowoc Lutheran; John Gaier, Neillsville; Jeff Pustina, Cuba City; Mike Jeffery, Cambridge; Steve Shaffer, Racine Lutheran; Rob Hendrickson, Shiocton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *